top of page



ENA (European Nurserystock Association) is an organization representing nurserystock producers' organizations all over Europe. Considering the need for closer economic, social and cultural cooperation at European level; conscious of their responsibility towards the nursery stock profession and mindful to obtain and further the health and prosperity of the nursery stock industry, European organisations representing nurserystock producers have established a European association, called ENA.


Almost twenty years of ENA-history demonstrates that cooperation between members is far better in achieving mutual gainful results. ENA promotes member cooperation of national promotional organisations and of research institutes. ENA became a subgroup of the COPA-COGECA (the European organisation of farmers' associations, working party on 'Flowers and Plants'.


Since the foundation an increasing number of growers organizations have joined ENA, with 15 countries represented in 2010. Member countries pay a membership fee that corresponds to the production value of nurserystock production of their country.

Purpose of ENA 

Through its professional member-organisations the ENA represents at an international level the common interests of growers and traders of hardy nursery stock products, including perennials. ENA also tries to be a platform for exchanging knowledge between members.


This purpose is among other things, carried out by means of meetings, publications, contacts with national, EU, COPA-COGECA and international organisations and authorities, the encouragement of professional training, scientific developments and research, and international documentation, publicity and exhibitions.


Decisions and opinions are always communicated to the working party 'Flowers and Plants' of COPA-COGECA. COPA-COGECA has working parties for the different agriculture sectors. Lobbying is also carried out through the official EU Commission advisory committees on which COPA-COGECA is represented.


In the early nineties, with the expansion of the European nurserystock market along with the disappearance of country borders, nurserystock representatives in Germany and the Netherlands considered the need for closer economic, social and cultural cooperation within the sector. Particular emphasis was put on maintaining and furthering the health and prosperity of the nurserystock industry. Against this background, the need to have an EU discussion platform was agreed and the European Nurserystock Association (ENA) was founded.


Founding members Germany and the Netherlands were soon joined by France, Belgium and the United Kingdom in ENA.


Two years after the foundation of ENA, ENA became a subgroup of the COPA-COGECA working party on 'Flowers and Plants'. COPA-COGECA is the European organisation of farmers' associations, which through its Brussels based offices, provides a forum to coordinate the lobby work on European political matters.


During the meetings of the Committees and Council it was common to use three languages, French, German and English. Professional interpreters were always present. This lasted till the late nineties when it was decided to only use English as the official language within ENA.


Seventeen countries now constitute the membership of ENA: Belgium, Bulgaria, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and United Kingdom. Russia is currently an observer member.


Platform for exchanging knowledge

ENA works on political matters at EU level, but also deals with technical matters of interest to non EU-members. ENA has addressed many technical issues related to the nursery stock sector and continues to monitoring EU regulations related to the sector.


Issues covered by ENA’s agenda in recent years include:


  • EU Quality Standards for nurserystock products;

  • Plant names list;

  • SAN-code (Speaking Article Number);

  • Packaging directive;

  • Plant diseases;

  • Environmental aspects;

  • VAT

  • European Single Payment Scheme;

  • Loss of PPP (Plant Protection Products);

  • Market Research Reports;

  • Education;

  • Modernising the EU Common Plant Health Regime


The ENA Structure


The official body of the ENA is the Council. The members of the Council are nominated by the member-associations of the countries concerned. The duration of their membership is not restricted. The Council meets at least twice a year, once in January in Essen at IPM and once in July in one of the member countries.


The President is the chief office-holder of the ENA. In the exercise of its functions the Council calls on the services of the ENA-Secretary to whom the General ENA-Secretariat is responsible. The ENA Secretary also acts as the Treasurer. It lies within his competence to deal with the day-to-day business of the ENA.


The presidency of ENA rotates among Member States every two years. The General Secretariat and the Headquarters of the Association usually move with the presidency. To help achieve some of its workload ENA utilizes a Sub Committee structure to carry out its work. This allows ENA to harness relevant expertise on a wide range of subjects.


The presidency of ENA rotates among Member States every two years. The secretariat usually moves with the presidency. Former ENA Presidents are as follows:


1991 - 1994         Alex Spaargaren (The Netherlands)

1994 - 1996         Andre Briant (France)

1996 - 1999         Lorenz von Ehren (Germany)

1999 - 2002        David Clark (United Kingdom)

2002 -2004         Willem Sanders (The Netherlands)

2004 -2006         Peter Schjott (Denmark)

2006 - 2008        Gwen Byrne (Ireland)

2008 – 2010       Willy De Nolf (Belgium)

2010 - 2012      Jaume Riera (Spain)

2012 – 2014      Maurizio Lapponi (Italy)

2014 -               Tim Edwards (United Kingdom)


bottom of page